Skip to content

CFP board unanimously approves 5+7 format

Icon Sportswire / Getty

The College Football Playoff board of managers unanimously approved a new 12-team format Tuesday.

The format will feature the five highest-ranked conference champions and seven at-large participants for 2024 and 2025.

No conference will be guaranteed a berth, and there'll be no limits on the number of participants from any conference.

The vote comes after the expected dissolution of the Pac-12. The new 12-team format was originally slated to feature six conference champions and six at-large participants.

Under the new format, the four highest-ranked conference champions will receive first-round byes. Teams that face off in the first round will play at the home field of the higher-ranked program: No. 5 will host No. 12, No. 6 will play No. 11, No. 7 will host No. 10, and No. 9 will visit No. 8.

Quarterfinal and semifinal games will be played in New Year's Six bowl games, while the CFP National Championship will remain a neutral-site contest.

"This is a very logical adjustment for the College Football Playoff based on the evolution of our conference structures since the board first adopted this new format in September 2022," Dr. Mark Keenum, president of Mississippi State and chair of the CFP board of managers, said in a statement.

"I know this change will also be well received by student-athletes, coaches, and fans. We all will be pleased to see this new format come to life on the field this postseason."

Michigan, Washington, Texas, and Alabama would've received first-round byes last year under the new format. Florida State, which would've been the fifth-ranked conference champion, would've hosted Oklahoma. In addition, Georgia would've played Ole Miss, Ohio State and Penn State would've met in Columbus, and Missouri would've visited Oregon in the first round.

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox