Blues GM calls Sharks' controversial OT winner 'garbage'
Dilip Vishwanat / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The St. Louis Blues didn't hold back after Game 3 of the Western Conference Final ended on a controversial goal.

San Jose Sharks defenseman Erik Karlsson scored the overtime winner around five minutes into the extra frame, but officials missed what appeared to be a hand pass prior to the goal - which was not eligible for video review.

Blues general manager Doug Armstrong made his feelings known after the loss.

St. Louis captain Alex Pietrangelo was also unhappy with the missed call.

"I didn't really get an explanation," Pietrangelo told reporters postgame. "I guess there's a different set of rules for two different teams. I'm sure they'll lose some sleep tonight after looking at it."

Pietrangelo then proceeded to laugh when asked if he saw a hand pass.

David Perron described the final play as an "unacceptable" way for the game to end.

"Yeah, it was a hand pass," said Perron, who scored twice in the losing effort. "But we're going to try and move forward and the league's going to take care of it like they've done in the past so far in the playoffs."

Blues head coach Craig Berube chose not to comment on the goal.

The Sharks have now benefited from three controversial calls thus far in the postseason. There was a questionable five-minute major against the Vegas Golden Knights in the first round, which was followed by a successful offside challenge that negated a Colorado Avalanche goal in Round 2.

Game 4 takes place Friday night in St. Louis with San Jose holding a 2-1 series lead.

Comments
Blues GM calls Sharks' controversial OT winner 'garbage'
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox