theScore's guide to the 2020 NHL All-Star Skills Competition
Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty

2020 NHL All-Star Skills Competition
Where: Enterprise Center, St. Louis, Missouri
When: Friday, Jan. 24 at 8 p.m. ET
TV: CBC, Sportsnet, TVA Sports (Canada); NBCSN (U.S.)

The time has come for the NHL's biggest stars to put their dazzling talents on display.

The 2020 All-Star Skills Competition will feature two new events, including a three-on-three game that showcases the best of women's hockey. Meanwhile, the winners of the individual events will each earn a $30,000 bonus.

Here's everything you need to know about Friday's action.

Fastest Skater

Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty

Kendall Coyne Schofield of the U.S. women's national team put everybody on notice last year when she participated in this classic event and posted a time of 14.346 seconds that topped Arizona Coyotes forward Clayton Keller.

Coyne Schofield won't compete this year, but eight NHLers will be timed for one full lap around the rink. Each skater can choose which direction they'll go, and they're allowed to begin a maximum of 3 feet behind the starting line.


Last year's winner: McDavid (13.378 seconds)

Save Streak

Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty

Eight goaltenders and all 36 skaters will participate in this event, which is a shootout format in which the goalies will compete to make the most consecutive saves.

Each netminder will face nine skaters from an opposing division and a minimum of nine shot attempts. Those skaters will shoot in order of their number, from the lowest to the highest, with the division's captain going last. The round cannot end with a save, so if the goalie stops the captain's shot, the shooters will continue in the same order until a goal is scored.

The goalie with the longest consecutive save streak will be crowned the winner.

If there's a tie, the winner will be the goaltender who made the most total saves. If at least two goalies are still tied, they will compete in a sudden-death round of "Goalie Goals."


Last year's winner: Henrik Lundqvist (12 saves)

Accuracy Shooting

Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty

Eight of the league's top snipers will duke it out in this accuracy challenge.

The players will be positioned 25 feet from the goal line. They must hit all of the LED targets in the net, and the player who does it the fastest will be the winner.


Last year's winner: David Pastrnak (11.309 seconds)

Elite Women's 3-on-3

Icon Sportswire / Icon Sportswire / Getty

This brand-new event will treat fans to one of hockey's greatest international rivalries.

The women's three-on-three matchup will include two teams - American All-Stars and Canadian All-Stars - that are each comprised of nine skaters and one goalie. There will be two 10-minute periods with a running clock.

The American squad will include the likes of Brianna Decker, Hilary Knight, Amanda Kessel, and Coyne Schofield. The Canadian team will feature Marie-Philip Poulin, Natalie Spooner, Sarah Nurse, and Meghan Agosta, among others.

Hardest Shot

Dave Sandford / National Hockey League / Getty

Zdeno Chara, who won this competition consecutively from 2007-12, won't be involved this year. However, Shea Weber, who won it three years in a row from 2015-17, will try to take back his crown.

Each player will attempt two shots that are measured in miles per hour, and the higher speed of the two will be recorded.

The players will shoot from 30 feet out. Players can skate toward the puck but can't start from farther away than the blue line. The player who records the fastest shot speed will be the winner.


Last year's winner: Carlson (102.8 MPH)

Shooting Stars

How about players shooting pucks into targets from an elevated platform above the ice? Sure, why not. We certainly can't blame the NHL for trying something new.

Eight NHLers and one player from each of the American and Canadian women's three-on-three teams will participate. Players will be positioned on the elevated platform 30 feet above the ice and shoot seven pucks at different targets. Protective netting will be installed above the fans.

Targets will have different point values, and players will be allowed to hit them more than once. The player who accumulates the most points will be the winner.


All-Star rosters

Atlantic Division

Player Position Team
David Pastrnak F BOS
Tyler Bertuzzi F DET
Anthony Duclair F OTT
Jack Eichel F BUF
Jonathan Huberdeau F FLA
Mitch Marner F TOR
Brady Tkachuk F OTT
Victor Hedman D TBL
Shea Weber D MTL
Frederik Andersen G TOR
Andrei Vasilevskiy G TBL

Metropolitan Division

Player Position Team
Mathew Barzal F NYI
Nico Hischier F NJD
Travis Konecny F PHI
T.J. Oshie F WSH
Chris Kreider F NYR
Kris Letang D PIT
John Carlson D WSH
Jaccob Slavin D CAR
Seth Jones D CBJ
Braden Holtby G WSH
Tristan Jarry G PIT

Central Division

Player Position Team
Nathan MacKinnon F COL
Patrick Kane F CHI
Ryan O'Reilly F STL
David Perron F STL
Mark Scheifele F WPG
Tyler Seguin F DAL
Eric Staal F MIN
Roman Josi D NSH
Alex Pietrangelo D STL
Jordan Binnington G STL
Connor Hellebuyck G WPG

Pacific Division

Player Position Team
Connor McDavid F EDM
Leon Draisaitl F EDM
Tomas Hertl F SJS
Anze Kopitar F LAK
Max Pacioretty F VGK
Elias Pettersson F VAN
Matthew Tkachuk F CGY
Mark Giordano D CGY
Quinn Hughes D VAN
Jacob Markstrom G VAN
David Rittich G CGY

Women's American All-Stars

Player Position
Alex Carpenter F
Kendall Coyne Schofield F
Brianna Decker F
Amanda Kessel F
Hilary Knight F
Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson F
Annie Pankowski F
Kacey Bellamy D
Lee Stecklein D
Alex Cavallini G

Women's Canadian All-Stars

Player Position
Meghan Agosta F
Melodie Daoust F
Rebecca Johnston F
Sarah Nurse F
Marie-Philip Poulin F
Natalie Spooner F
Blayre Turnbull F
Renata Fast D
Laura Fortino D
Ann-Renee Desbiens G
theScore's guide to the 2020 NHL All-Star Skills Competition
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox