Skip to content

Hughes, Josi, Makar voted Norris Trophy finalists

Jeff Vinnick / National Hockey League / Getty

Quinn Hughes of the Vancouver Canucks, Roman Josi of the Nashville Predators, and Cale Makar of the Colorado Avalanche are this season's Norris Trophy finalists, the league announced Wednesday.

Members of the Professional Hockey Writers Association vote on the award at the end of each regular season. The Norris Trophy recognizes "the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position."

A first-time finalist, Hughes is considered the favorite to win the hardware. He led all defensemen with 75 assists and 92 points - including 54 at even strength - in 82 games while leading the Canucks in average ice time (24:41).

The 24-year-old also ranked first among all rearguards in goals above replacement (24.9) and wins above replacement (4.1). Vancouver dictated 57.2% of the shot attempts, 54.8% of the expected goals, and 57.7% of the scoring chances while outscoring opponents 92-55 with Hughes on the ice at five-on-five.

A Canucks player has never won the Norris Trophy or been a finalist for the hardware. Hughes finished ninth on the ballot last campaign and 13th the season before.

The other two finalists have a lot more experience with the honor.

Josi took home the Norris Trophy in 2020 and was the runner-up two years ago. The Predators captain led all blue-liners with 23 goals and ranked third with 85 points while appearing in all 82 contests for the first time since 2018-19. He was also the hottest defenseman down the stretch, pacing his peers with 40 points in 31 games since the All-Star break to help Nashville make the playoffs.

The 33-year-old veteran placed third among rearguards in both GAR (22) and WAR (3.6). The Predators controlled 53.8% of the shot attempts, 55.3% of the expected goals, and 53.6% of the scoring chances while outscoring opponents 82-63 with Josi on the ice at five-on-five. Nashville was outscored 90-86 when he was on the bench.

Makar, meanwhile, is a finalist for the fourth straight year. He won the Norris Trophy in 2022.

The 25-year-old finished second among all blue-liners with 21 goals and 90 points in 77 games and third with 70 takeaways, while his 1.17 point-per-game rate was the highest in the class. He also saw the most average ice time (24:46) of the three finalists.

Colorado dictated 52.9% of the shot attempts, 52.7% of the expected goals, and 55.5% of the scoring chances while outscoring opponents 72-64 with Makar on the ice at five-on-five.

Details surrounding the 2024 NHL Awards have yet to be finalized, but reports indicate the event will be held June 27 in Las Vegas.

(Analytics sources: Natural Stat Trick, Evolving Hockey)

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox