CFL announces 2021 award finalists

Derek Leung / Getty Images Sport / Getty

The finalists for the 2021 CFL Awards were unveiled Thursday.

Quarterback Zach Collaros is in contention for the Most Outstanding Player award after carrying the Winnipeg Blue Bombers to the top seed in the West behind a league-leading 20 touchdown passes.

Montreal Alouettes running back William Stanback is the other finalist for the CFL's top award after winning the rushing title with 1,176 yards for an average of 78 yards per game.

Fresh off becoming the Hamilton Tiger-Cats' all-time leading tackler, linebacker Simoni Lawrence is the East nominee for Most Outstanding Defensive Player. He'll square off against Blue Bombers' Adam Bighill, who has won the award twice (2015, 2018).

Rookie head coach Ryan Dinwiddie is up for Coach of the Year after making quite the splash in Toronto, leading the 9-5 Argos to the top of the East. Meanwhile, Mike O'Shea led Winnipeg to the best record in the CFL with an 11-3 mark, including a perfect record at IG Field.

Category East Division West Division
Player William Stanback (MTL) Zach Collaros (WPG)
Defensive Simoni Lawrence (HAM) Adam Bighill (WPG)
Canadian David Menard (MTL) Bo Lokombo (BC)
Offensive Lineman Brandon Revenberg (HAM) Stanley Bryant (WPG)
Special Teams DeVonte Dedmon (OTT) Rene Paredes (CGY)
Rookie Peter Nicastro (TOR) Jordan Williams (BC)
Coach of the Year Ryan Dinwiddie (TOR) Mike O'Shea (WPG)

The awards ceremony will take place Dec. 10 in Hamilton ahead of the 108th Grey Cup on Dec. 12.

CFL announces 2021 award finalists
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox