Megan Rapinoe wins Best FIFA Women's Player award

Megan Rapinoe has been rewarded for a standout performance at this summer's Women's World Cup in France.

The United States star was the recipient of The Best FIFA Women's Player award at a ceremony in Milan on Monday, beating out international teammate Alex Morgan and England full-back Lucy Bronze.

Rapinoe becomes the second American to be named The Best FIFA Women's Player in the award's four-year history, joining USWNT teammate Carli Lloyd.

Year Player Country
2016 Carli Lloyd United States
2017 Lieke Martens Netherlands
2018 Marta Brazil
2019 Megan Rapinoe United States

It's been a year rife with individual honors for two-time World Cup winner Rapinoe.

The 34-year-old finished joint-top of the scoring charts at the World Cup alongside Morgan and England's Ellen White, and she was awarded the Golden Boot for having played the fewest minutes of the three. The 158-time-capped Rapinoe also took home the Golden Ball as the tournament's best player, beating out Bronze and American Rose Lavelle.

Megan Rapinoe wins Best FIFA Women's Player award
  Got something to say? Leave a comment below!
Daily Newsletter
Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox