Watch: Do umpires need discretion on catcher's interference?
theScore/Getty Images
The Philadelphia Phillies eked out an extra-innings victory over the Boston Red Sox on Monday night in absurd fashion: The winning run scored when Carlos Narváez committed catcher's interference with the bases loaded in the bottom of the 10th.
But here's the twist: The "interference" came on a pitch that the batter didn't even swing at!
That wild ending ultimately begs the question: Should umpires have discretion on catcher's interference calls?
Produced by: Jonah Birenbaum (@birenball | X, Instagram)
HEADLINES
- Schwarber's 4-HR game propels Phillies over Braves
- Rangers' Seager to undergo appendectomy, return uncertain
- Scherzer, Bieber make Jays' playoff rotation scary and surprising
- Red Sox move closer to Blue Jays after sweeping O's for 7-1 road trip
- Ohtani strikes out season-high 9 to earn 1st win with Dodgers
Advertisement