Skip to content

Wembanyama unanimously wins Rookie of the Year

Michael Gonzales / National Basketball Association / Getty

San Antonio Spurs star Victor Wembanyama has capped off a stellar debut season by winning 2023-24 NBA Rookie of the Year honors on Monday via unanimous voting.

Wembanyama beat out fellow finalists Oklahoma City Thunder big man Chet Holmgren and Charlotte Hornets forward Brandon Miller for the award. The Spurs prodigy is the first unanimous winner of the honor since Minnesota Timberwolves big Karl-Anthony Towns.

Wembanyama made 71 appearances for the Spurs, averaging 21.4 points, 10.6 rebounds, 3.9 assists, and an NBA-leading 3.6 blocks in 29.7 minutes per game.

He became the second rookie (Manute Bol in 1995-96) to lead the league in blocks since the NBA began keeping official records in 1973-74. He also became the first rookie since Shaquille O'Neal (1992-93) to record a 40-point, 20-rebound outing.

Wembanyama is now the third Spur to win Rookie of the Year, joining David Robinson (1989-90) and Tim Duncan (1997-98).

Daily Newsletter

Get the latest trending sports news daily in your inbox