Ancer handed 2-stroke penalty after Round 1 for touching sand in bunker
Abraham Ancer received a two-stroke penalty for unintentionally touching the sand with his club while in a bunker during Round 1, the Masters announced Thursday evening.
The tournament handed Ancer the penalty retroactively, so he won't be disqualified for signing an incorrect scorecard because he was unaware of the infraction at the time.
A rules committee at Augusta National reviewed video evidence of a potential breach of Rule 12.2b(1), which states that touching the sand in a bunker right behind the ball is a penalty.
The Masters stated the infraction was visible to the naked eye, and if it wasn't, video evidence wouldn't have been used and no penalty would be assessed.
Ancer tweeted a video of the infraction.
I was just informed that I have been assessed a 2 stroke penalty for unintentionally grazing the sand in my backswing on hole 15. While I’m gutted, I can’t wait to get after it tomorrow. pic.twitter.com/5ZOlthQzeE
— Abraham Ancer (@Abraham_Ancer) April 9, 2021
The Mexican's score on the 15th hole was increased from six to eight. He shot 75 in Round 1 instead of a 1-over 73.
HEADLINES
- Prime Video to stream 4 hours of 1st, 2nd rounds at Masters
- Scheffler being last Ryder Cup pick in 2021 played role in rise to world No. 1
- Scottie Scheffler warms up for Ryder Cup by winning for the 6th time this year
- Europe's Ryder Cup team using VR headsets to prepare for noise, insults
- Noren wins European tour's flagship event at Wentworth for 2nd time